[Skip to Content]


 TSPRA uses an all-online submission and judging system. This year some changes and additions were made to the categories and divisions.
1.  The print newsletter internal and external categories have been combined.
2.  The e-newsletter internal and external categories have been combined.
3.  The mobile app and foundation/partnership campaign categories have been eliminated.
4.  The Division sizes have been changed:

  • Less than 15,000 students
  • 15,000 to 40,000 students
  • More than 40,000 students

 Register to enter online by creating a login or use the same login as last year. You may create one login that everyone in your department may use so that all entries may be on one invoice.
 Since everything is submited electronically, be sure to read the instructions. Some categories require multiple uploads and information. There will be a specific number of pieces required for image packages, a specific number of photo and video URLs for the crystal awards, etc.
 You may stop and start the entry process, edit or delete entries waiting to be judged up to the time you make the final submission to enter. Items in your cart are not finally submitted until you submit them for payment. Once you submit the entries for payment, no changes can be made.
 Judges will judge and submit their evaluations online where you will read and download them after the annual Star Awards banquet. 
 A online gallery of Gold Star winners and Crystal and Platinum entries will be available online the day after the Star Awards Celebration. There will not be a physical Star Awards display at conference since we do not receive physical entries.
 Entry fees for 2023 are: $40 for print; $55 for video/electronic/campaigns; $70 for crystal; $80 for platinum

Official Rules and Instructions

Who may enter

Only TSPRA members who have paid their 2023-2024 dues by October 31, 2023 are eligible to enter and have their names on an award. If you wish tio have the award presented to your department, rather than individual names, you must have dues paid for at least three (3) TSPRA members. Administrative assistants who enter on behalf of members may submit entries. They should set up a profile in the system. 
Do not include any names of non-TSPRA members on entries.


Entries may be submitted starting Wednesday, September 20, 2023 at 2 p.m. with the deadline to enter being Wednesday, November 1, 2023, 11:59 p.m. CST. There are no acceptions to the deadline. The system closes at midnight.

Do not ship or bring entries to the state office. Everything must be submitted online. 

Invoices and Payments

Invoices are created when you enter. Payment is due by December 15, 2023 or your awards will be forfeited. 
We do not accept credit cards for Star Award payments. Plan to get your invoice paid as soon as your entries are submitted. Invoices are created when you enter.

What to submit

• Work that fits the category criteria and was produced and used by an educational institution (district, association, foundation, university, education service center, etc.) between July 1, 2022 through June 30, 2023 may be entered. If the entered work can not be evaluated because it was not completed during that time frame, for example, a bond election, event, etc., then it is not eligible for an award this year but can be entered the following year.

• Submit as many entries in as many categories as you wish. You may enter multiple entries in a single category. There are some restrictions in writing and video where an entry can only be entered in one of those categories.

• Submit each entry electronically using the online system where you will upload files and/or submit URLs, depending on the category. 

• Submittal requirements vary depending on the category. Carefully read the individual category descriptions for details on what you need to upload.

• No entry which earned a Best of Category in the previous year is eligible to be re-entered again this year. By that, we mean that it can not be substantially the same entry. For more information, contact the TSPRA State Office.

• Judges may re-categorize an entry. Entries that fail to follow guidelines may be penalized or disqualified by the judges. All judges' decisions are final.


Print, Video, Electronic and Campaign categories are judged in three divisions. Divisions are based on the number of students a district, foundation, service center or organization serves as of May 1, 2022. TSPRA affiliate members who are private consultants and/or their companies that do work for a district, foundation or education association, will base their entry's division size on the number of students served by their client. The divisions are:

• serving less than 15,000 students 
• serving 15,000 to 40,000 students 
• serving more than 40,000 students

Crystal and Platinum categories are not judged by divsions.

NOTE: If there are less than three entries in a particular category's division, those entries will be moved to the next higher or lower division. 

Types of Awards

• One Best of Category medallion may be awarded in each of the three divisions in a category selected from the highest scoring Gold Star awards.

• Unlimited Gold, Silver and Bronze Star awards may be awarded in Print, Video, Electronic and Campaign categories.

• Only one Crystal Commendation and Platinum award per category will be awarded.

• At the judges' discretion, Certificates of Merit may be awarded to worthy runners-up in the Crystal and Platinum categories.

Objective Sheet

The Objective Sheet is now a series of online questions. You can prepare these answers in advance and copy and paste them into the fields. This information is extremely important to the judge since your work is evaluated not only on creativity and skill but on its success at achieving your stated goals with proven results. 

All entries must:

  • meet eligibility and deadline requirements

  • be entered in the correct category, following the proper procedure

  • indicate what copyrighted materials you have used

  • If a judge questions your copyright statement, you will be contacted for proof of copyright

Entry Fees for Star Awards

★  $40  Print Entries (Categories 1-27)

★  $55  Video, Electronic, Web and Campaign/Event Entries (Categories 28-47)

★  $70  Crystal Commendation Entries (Categories 48-56)

★  $80  Platinum Entries (Category 57)


1. Look at the categories and criteria for entering. Then gather your work and prepare your electronic or URL entries, following the category instructions.

2. Get all the information needed for each entry: contact name and email; division size; name of entity for the award; title of the entry for the award; names of TSPRA members who worked the entry.

3. On September 20, set up login and password for the award site OR if you entered last year, use the same login.

4. Follow the online entry process. Stop and start as you need to.

5. Submit all entries no later than 11:59 p.m. CTS, November 1, 2023.

If you need assistance, please call Janet Crock at TSPRA office at 512-474-9107.